Information on data protection

As of: 13.04.2020

Name and address of the data protection officer

The data protection officer can be reached via:

E-Mail: dsgvo@dbvis.inf.uni-konstanz.de

Name and address of the responsible institution

The responsible institution as per the General Data Protection Regulation (GDPR), other national data protection laws of the member states as well as additional data protection regulations is the:

AG Keim
Universität Konstanz
represented by its professor, Prof. Dr. Daniel A. Keim
Universitätsstraße 10
78464 Konstanz
GERMANY
Phone +49 7531 88-3161
E-Mail: keim@uni-konstanz.de

Responsible for content:

Matthew Sharinghousen
E-Mail: dsgvo@dbvis.inf.uni-konstanz.de

Website: vis.uni-konstanz.de

Providing access to the website and creation of log files

  1. Description and scope of data processing
    Every time a user accesses a University of Konstanz web page, file or other resource, the following data related to this process is stored in a log file:
    • date and time of request
    • address and file size ( in bytes ) of the resource requested and/or accessed
    • the visitor’s IP address
    • request method ( e.g. HTTP GET for requesting a website from the server )
    • server response ( HTTP status code, e.g. “file sent”, “file not found”, etc)
    • referrer website visited prior to this web site as well as the search terms entered, if available
    • Data pertaining to the browser, operating system, and their versions, as available
    • connection information from the browser and operating system used, if available
  2. Legal basis
    The legal basis for storing log files is § 6 para 1. lit e) in connection with § 3 GDPR in connection with § 4 Landesdatenschutzgesetz (LDSG, law for the protection of personal data) in the version coming into effect on 6 June 2018.
  3. Purpose of processing data
    The logged information is used to identify, isolate and fix disruptions or errors in the systems needed to operate the University of Konstanz web pages. These may also include disruptions or errors that lead to the restricted availability of information and communication services or allow unauthorised access to the systems.
  4. Storage duration
    The last two bytes of the IP address are deleted after 5 days so that any other data collected in the process can no longer be associated with a particular person.
    The anonymised information is used for statistical purposes in order to continually improve the quality of the web services provided.

Using cookies

When a page is visited, the browser will save a so-called “session cookie” to the end device in use. The cookie will be deleted as soon as the browser is closed. The “session cookies” do not contain personal information. It is not intended nor possible to use the session ID to identify a user. The temporary logging of these cookies can be disabled by changing the appropriate settings of the internet browser. This does not affect the access or use of the page, but disabling cookies may increase the server’s response time slightly.

Web analysis

This website is using Matomo, an Open Source, self-hosted software for collecting anonymous usage statistics for this website.

The data is used to analyse the behaviour of the website visitors to identify potential pitfalls like not found pages, search engine indexing issues and to find out which contents are the most appreciated. Once the data (number of visitors reaching a not found pages, viewing only one page…) is processed, Matomo is generating reports for website owners to take action, for example changing the layout of the pages, publishing some fresh content… etc.

Matomo is processing the following data:

  • Cookies

  • Anonymized IP-address by removing the last 2 bytes (so 198.51.0.0 instead of 198.51.100.54)

  • Pseudo-anonymized Location of the user (generated from the anonymized IP-address)

  • Date and time

  • Title of the page being viewed

  • URL of the page being viewed

  • Screen resolution

  • Time in local timezone

  • Pages generation time

  • Country, region, city (low resolution based on IP-address

  • Main Language of the browser

  • User Agent of the browser

Details of transfers to third country and safeguards

Matomo and this website data is hosted in Germany. No data leaves the EU.

Rights for the parties involved

  • In accordance with § 15 GDPR, you have the right to request information from the Data Analysis and Visualization group of the department of Computer and Information Science of the University of Konstanz about any data it saves that is related to your person and/or to have incorrect data corrected as per § 16 GDPR.
  • You also have the right to demand that your data be deleted (§ 17 GDPR) or that the processing and use thereof be restricted (§ 18 GDPR), as well as to object to the processing and use of your data (§ 21 GDPR).
  • If you raise an objection while in a contractual relationship with the university, it may no longer be possible to fulfil the contract.
  • You can withdraw your consent regarding the processing and use of your data at any time. The fact that all data processed between the point in time that consent was given and it being withdrawn was processed lawfully remains untouched.
  • To better understand and exercise your rights, please contact our data protection officer by emailing dsgvo@uni-konstanz.de.
  • You also have the right to file a complaint with the regulating authority if you believe that the processing and use of your personal data is in violation of the law (§ 77 GDPR). The responsible contact person at the regulating authority is the Landesbeauftragter für den Datenschutz und die Informationsfreiheit Baden-Württemberg (state commissioner for data protection and the freedom of information in Baden-Württemberg) (https://www.baden-wuerttemberg.datenschutz.de).

Social media

The website uses various social media channels to keep visitors informed about its activities and appreciates the lively exchange that this enables.

When engaging with the website using social media, please note that we have no way of influencing if and how data is collected and processed by the social media services used. Please check the personal data you make available to social media outlets carefully. We cannot accept liability for the conduct of the operating companies or third parties.

We wish to draw your attention to the fact that Twitter stores and utilises user data (e.g. personal data, IP address, etc.) in line with their own data processing guidelines. The university has no way of determining to what extent the way personal data is evaluated, linked or passed on to third parties is in accordance with the European data protection regulations. You can learn more about data processing in social media by visiting the following pages:

Datenschutzinformation

Stand: 04.10.2018

I. Name und Anschrift des Datenschutzbeauftragten

Der Datenschutzbeauftragte des Verantwortlichen ist erreichbar unter:

E-Mail: dsgvo@dbvis.inf.uni-konstanz.de

II. Name und Anschrift des Verantwortlichen

Der Verantwortliche im Sinne der Datenschutz-Grundverordnung und anderer nationaler Datenschutzgesetze der Mitgliedstaaten sowie sonstiger datenschutzrechtlicher Bestimmungen ist die:

AG Keim
Universität Konstanz
vertreten durch den Lehrstuhlinhaber, Prof. Dr. Daniel A. Keim
Universitätsstraße 10
78464 Konstanz
Tel. +49 7531 88-3161
E-Mail: keim@uni-konstanz.de

Inhaltliche Verantwortung:

Matthew Sharinghousen
E-Mail: dsgvo@dbvis.inf.uni-konstanz.de

Website: vis.uni-konstanz.de

II. Bereitstellung der Webseite und Erstellung von Logfiles

  1. Beschreibung und Umfang der Datenverarbeitung
    Bei jedem Zugriff eines Nutzers oder einer Nutzerin auf eine Seite aus dem Angebot der Website mustersite.dbvis.de und bei jedem Abruf einer Datei oder sonstigen Ressource werden folgende Daten über diesen Vorgang in einer Protokolldatei gespeichert:
    • Datum und Uhrzeit der Anfrage
    • Adresse und Datenmenge ( in Bytes ) der angefragten und/oder abgerufenen Ressource
    • IP-Adresse der Besucherin/ des Besuchers
    • Anfragemethode ( z.B. GET-Methode zur Anforderung einer Webseite vom Server )
    • Antwort des Servers (HTTP Statuscode, z. B. „Datei übertragen.“ oder „Datei nicht gefunden“ etc.
    • Website, von der aus der Zugriff erfolgte (zuvor besuchte Website, so genannter „Referrer“) und verwendeter Suchmaschinen-Suchbegriff, sofern übermittelt
    • Erkennungsdaten des verwendeten Browser- und Betriebssystems ( + Version ), sofern übermittelt
    • Geotargeting ( Zuordnung von IP-Adresse zu deren geografischer Herkunft )
  2. Rechtsgrundlage
    Rechtsgrundlage für die Speicherung der Logfiles ist Art. 6 Abs. 1 lit. e) i.V.m. Abs. 3 DSGVO i.V.m. § 4 Landesdatenschutzgesetz BW (im Folgenden: LDSG) in der ab dem 6. Juni 2018 geltenden Fassung.
  3. Zweck der Datenverarbeitung
    Die protokollierten Daten werden verwendet, um Störungen oder Fehler an den Systemen, die für das Web-Angebot der Universität Konstanz erforderlich sind, zu erkennen, einzugrenzen oder zu beseitigen. Davon umfasst sind auch Störungen, die zu einer Einschränkung der Verfügbarkeit der Informations- und Kommunikationsdienste oder zu einem unerlaubten Zugriff auf die Systeme führen können.
  4. Dauer der Speicherung
    Die letzten 2 Bytes der IP-Adresse werde nach maximal 5 Tagen gelöscht, so dass eine Zuordnung der weiteren erhobenen Daten zu einer Person dann nicht mehr möglich ist.
    Die anonymisierten Daten werden für statistische Zwecke verwendet, um die Gestaltung der Website kontinuierlich zu optimieren.

IV. Verwendung von Cookies

Beim Besuch einer Seite wird vom Browser ein so genanntes Sitzungs-Cookie auf dem jeweiligen Endgerät gespeichert. Dieses wird gelöscht, sobald der Browser geschlossen wird. Die Sitzungs-Cookies enthalten keine personenbezogenen Daten, so dass anhand der Sitzungs-ID kein Bezug auf die Person des Nutzers oder der Nutzerin hergestellt werden kann oder beabsichtigt ist. Die Speicherung dieser Cookies kann durch entsprechende Einstellungen im Browser ausgeschaltet werden. Die Nutzung der Seite wird dadurch nicht eingeschränkt, lediglich die Antwortzeit des Servers kann sich geringfügig verschlechtern.

V. Webanalyse

Wir nutzen auf unserer Website keine Webanalyse-Tools.

VI. Rechte der betroffenen Personen

  • Sie haben das Recht, von der AG Keim Auskunft über die zu Ihrer Person gespeicherten personenbezogenen Daten gemäß Art. 15 DSGVO zu erhalten und/oder unrichtig gespeicherte personenbezogene Daten gemäß Art. 16 DSGVO berichtigen zu lassen.
  • Sie haben darüber hinaus das Recht auf Löschung (Art. 17 DSGVO) oder auf Einschränkung der Verarbeitung (Art. 18 DSGVO) oder ein
  • Erfolgt der Widerspruch im Rahmen eines Vertragsverhältnisses kann dies zur Folge haben, dass eine Vertragsdurchführung nicht mehr möglich ist.
  • Beruht die Verarbeitung der personenbezogenen Daten auf einer Einwilligung kann diese jederzeit widerrufen werden. Die Rechtmäßigkeit der Verarbeitung bleibt bis zum Widerruf unberührt.
  • Bitte wenden Sie sich zur Wahrnehmung Ihrer Rechte an den Datenschutzbeauftragten, E-Mail dsgvo@dbvis.inf.uni-konstanz.de.
  • Sie haben außerdem das Recht auf Beschwerde bei der Aufsichtsbehörde, wenn Sie der Ansicht sind, dass die Verarbeitung der Sie betreffenden personenbezogenen Daten gegen die datenschutzrechtlichen Vorschriften verstößt (Art. 77 DSGVO). Die zuständige Aufsichtsbehörde ist der Landesbeauftragte für den Datenschutz und die Informationsfreiheit Baden-Württemberg (https://www.baden-wuerttemberg.datenschutz.de)

VII. Soziale Netzwerke

In den sozialen Netzwerken informiert die AG Keim über ihre aktuellen Aktivitäten und freut sich über regen Austausch mit den Besucherinnen und Besuchern der Seiten.

Bitte beachten Sie dabei, dass die AG Keim keinen Einfluss auf die Datenerhebung und deren weitere Verwendung bei den Netzwerken und von diesen angebotenen Diensten hat. Bitte prüfen Sie sorgfältig, welche persönlichen Daten Sie den sozialen Netzwerken zur Verfügung stellen. Wir können keine Haftung für das Verhalten der Betreiber der sozialen Netzwerke sowie Dritter übernehmen.

Wir machen Sie ausdrücklich darauf aufmerksam, dass Twitter die Daten ihrer Nutzerinnen und Nutzer (z. B. persönliche Informationen, IP-Adresse etc.) entsprechend ihrer Datenverwendungsrichtlinien abspeichern und für geschäftliche Zwecke nutzen. Inwiefern dies den europäischen Datenschutzbestimmungen entspricht, welche Auswertungen und Verknüpfungen vorgenommen oder an wen die Daten weitergegeben werden, ist für die Universität nicht erkennbar. Über die Verarbeitung von Daten durch die sozialen Netzwerke können Sie sich unter den folgenden Links informieren: